Spur Schools MTB League riders represent their schools at Western Cape #1

On Saturday, 24 June 2017 mountain biking enthusiasts from the Western Cape were out in full force representing their schools in the Spur Schools Mountain Bike League Western Cape #1 in Somerset West.

Michelle du Preez, regional event organiser, said that learners, parents and school coaches turned up in their numbers at Southey Vines Cycle Park on Saturday. With a total of nine schools being represented on the day, the start line and feed-zones were filled with school clothing, gazebos and excitement.

“We were thrilled by the great pre-entry response. We received more than 520 rider entries which is fantastic for the first event of the Western Cape season. The enthusiasm for the sport is growing among the kids and more schools are getting involved,” she said.

As the second biggest region in the League, Western Cape will see another healthy spike in numbers this year.

The Western Cape #1 winners for the following categories are: Sub Junior Boys B (14yrs): Aidan Penfold, Paul Roos Gimnasium; Sub Junior Girls B (14yrs): Andrew Schofmann, Rhenish Girls High; Youth Men A (15yrs): Luke Moir, SACS College Snr – WC; Youth Women A (15yrs): Stefke Tolmay, DF Malan High; Youth Men B (16yrs): Jamie Penfold, Paul Roos Gimnasium; Youth Women B (16yrs): Michaela Beaton, Rhenish Girls High; Junior Men (17-18yrs): Johann Trotzky, Montana High; Junior Women (17-18yrs): Mia de Villiers, Paarl Girls High.

The Spur Schools Mountain Bike League was launched by Spur Steak Ranches and Amarider in 2009. The initiative aims to provide a level of regional and national structure for the sport at school level, as well as to encourage schools to adopt mountain biking as an official in-school sport.

The Spur Mountain Bike League Interschools Final wraps up this season on 7-8 October in Magaliesburg. Schools go head-to-head on race day and the race moves away from the individual rider-focus to a team-focussed race. Each school strives to qualify for this part of League.

A cash prize of R10 000 is up for grabs and will be awarded to each school at the top of their age category. The primary and high schools finishing top of the points log at the end of each season are awarded the Region’s School Champion floating trophy.

View Into Cycling Photo Album on Facebook:  http://ow.ly/RU8s30cVunI