Greg Minnaar takes second place at UCI World Cup Lenzerheide

Photo credit: UCI

Greg Minnaar (37) claimed his 77th podium of his downhill racing career when he finished in second place in the Downhill competition at the 2019 UCI Mercedes Benz World Cup in Lenzerheide, Switzerland, on Saturday 10 August.

Known as Mr Consistency on the UCI World Cup circuit and considered by his peers and fans as the greatest of all time, Greg’s steady results this season have seen him finish in the top 10 five times in seven races, with two second places – the other being in Leogang (Austria).

He rode a calculated race on the Swiss slopes to post the second fastest time in the final run, sandwiched behind Frenchmen Amaury Pierron by just under a second and in front of Loic Bruni. Losing time in the top section, Greg made up for his shortfall in the lower part of the track by claiming back one second, but it just wasn’t enough to clinch the win on the day.

“I had a really good run. I just opened it up and the track was in great condition. I’m stoked with second place. I put it all out there and caught up some time, but it just wasn’t enough,” said Greg in the post-race interview on RedBullTV. “I knew it would be hard to beat these “Frenchies” (Bruni and Pierron).”

Greg now looks ahead to the final round of the 2019 UCI Mercedes Benz World Cup series in Snowshoe, West Virginia USA. “I haven’t won a race all season, so I’d love to win a race. I raced there in the Norba National Series a few years ago and it will be good to go back and race.”

*Greg Minnaar has been a dominant force on the UCI World Cup downhill circuit since 2000. Greg is 3 x Downhill World Champion (2003, 2012, 2013), 3 x Downhill World Cup Champion (2001, 2005, 2008); he has achieved 21 Downhill World Cup victories and 77 Downhill World Cup podiums. Greg has 10 Downhill World Champion medals (3 x gold; 4 x silver; 3 x bronze). (Source:

Summary of Results – UCI Mercedes Benz World Cup in Lenzerheide

Elite Men

  1. Amaury Pierron (FRA) 2:49.422

  2. Greg Minnaar (RSA) +0.951

  3. Loic Bruni (FRA) +1.400

  4. Troy Brosnan (AUS) +2.160

  5. Danny Hart (GBR) +3.222