Eden Road & Time Trial Championships News Update

Eden Road & Time Trial Championships

The Eden Road and Time Trial Championships took place in Oudtshoorn on the weekend of 12-14 January 2018, a week before the Western Cape Road Champs.

Many riders used this opportunity to test their fitness levels ahead of the South African Road Champs taking place in February. Even riders outside the Eden District like Theuns van der Bank, Kelson Da Cruz, Liezel Jordaan and Louis Visser took part in the event.

The routes used was partly on the SA Road Champs course and therefore good preparation for the upcoming event. The 102km race was won by Louis Visser with more than a minute to Marchal Hendricks taking the sprint, with Theuns van der Bank in 3rd. Theuns van der Bank also won the 27km Time Trial.

The 52km was won by Errol Pretorius in a sprint finish with Benino Hans 2nd and Kelson Da Cruz 3rd. These 3 had more than 2 minutes on the 4th rider. Julian Bunge, a U/17 rider had to complete the last 15km on a flat back wheel in his 1st road race ever. Errol also won the 14km Time trial.

Both the 15 and 30km distances were won by girls. The 15km was won by Mine Van der Waldt, Jana Van der Waldt 2nd and Beyaunte Goliath 3rd. The 30km was won by Suveena Arries, Chandre Schultz 2nd and Jowaygen Goliath 3rd.

“Well done to all the riders competing and completing the races.”

View results

Read more articles