Alan Gordon claims another victory in Limpopo

Photo: Insect Science

Crocodile Trophy winner Alan Gordon added the Limpopo Provincial Championship title to his list of achievement for the year when he was a convincing winner of the Insect Classic mountain bike event in Magoebaskloof on Saturday.

While the rest of the country was preparing to watch the Rugby World Cup showdown in Japan, Gordon was cruising home to a four-minute win over fellow Crocodile Trophy hero, Carel “CP” van Wyk.

Just under a month ago Gordon and Van Wyk took on the gruelling Crocodile Trophy mountain bike race in Australia. Gordon followed in the pedal strokes of some well-known names by winning the eight-day race through the outback of Queensland while Van Wyk ended ninth overall.

Their heroics Down Under raised question marks over whether they would have recovered sufficiently to be competitive in the mountainous terrain of the Magoebaskloof area for the Limpopo Provincial championships.

There was no need to worry as the two dominated the action and filled the top two spots with Gordon notching up his fourth in the race in four years with a time of 2.57.39, while Van Wyk crossed the line in 3.01.45. Eight minutes further back Rory Button claimed the final step on the podium after edging out Bill Noel by just one second. Sydney Swart rounded out the top five in 3.19.46.

In the women’s event Sarah Hill was in a class of her own as she claimed the women’s title with an impressive ride which saw her cross the line in 3.17.06, with Sanevey Scriven a distant second.

In the shorter events, junior Armand Cronje claimed a tight victory over Oawie Grobbelaar with youth riders Tyrone Anders and Bjorn Nel both also finishing within eight seconds of the 45km winner. The women’s event was almost as tight with veteran Retha Beukes taking an eight-second victory over youth rider Amilia Goosen as sub-vet Jana De la Port ended up just a few seconds further back.

The 20km saw Michael Scriven and Ali Thomson claiming the honours in the men’s and women’s races respectively while Johanno van Tonder and Lohane Ehlers came out tops in the 10km ride.

Full results can be found at